How to get a Minnesota Learners Permit
- Minnesota Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MN Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your MN driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Minnesota Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Minnesota DMV guidelines, you must be 15 years old to receive your instruction permit. The holding period for the permit is 6 months.
All applicants must have completed 30 hours of classroom instruction and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction, pass a written exam and vision test, and hold your instruction permit for at least 6 months in order to apply for a provisional license.
Prepare for the Written Test
The Minnesota DPS requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail two consecutive knowledge tests, you will be charged a fee of $10 to take a third test and any subsequent knowledge test.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Minnesota practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Instruction Permit
Before you head to the Minnesota DPS Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Signature of parent on application
- Social Security Number
- Proof of completed driver education classroom course
- Proof of enrollment in behind-the-wheel instruction
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
During the permit phase, the licensee must complete 30 hours of supervised driving (10 of which should be done at night).
The minimum age for a provisional license is 16 years old. The nighttime restriction during this stage is not being allowed to drive between the hours of midnight to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee is restricted to 1 passenger under the age of 20. For the second 6 months, the licensee may carry no more than 3 passengers younger than 20.
Nighttime driving restrictions are lifted at the age of 16 years and 6 months. Passenger restrictions are lifted once the licensee reaches the age of 17 years old.