How to get an Alabama Learners Permit
- Alabama Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
AL Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your AL driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's licenseTry Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Alabama Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Alabama DMV guidelines, you must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learners Permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months prior to applying for a driver license.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Alabama DPS requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Alabama practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Before you head to the Alabama DPS Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Birth Certificate
- Social Security Card
- Proof of residence address
- Verification of school enrollment
- Payment for application fee
On the Road
When you first receive your Alabama learners permit, you may practice driving while accompanied by a person who is 21 years of age or older and, who is duly licensed in this state or a licensed or certified driving instructor occupying the seat beside you.