How to get a Louisiana Driver's License
- Louisiana Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
LA Driver's License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your LA drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Louisiana Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your LA Driving Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for a Louisiana learner's permit (graduated licensing program) which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learner's permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test and vision tests to receive a LA driver's license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 180 days before taking the road skills test and their parent or legal guardian must certify that they have received at least 50 hours (15 at night) of supervised driving instruction.
Applicants seventeen (17) years of age or above who have not entered the graduated licensing program may apply for full Class E license or a learner's permit upon completion of a full driver's education course or a six (6) hour pre-licensing course. An out-of-state applicant sixteen (16) years of age who has had a license or permit for a minimum of one hundred eighty (180) days may be eligible to bypass the learners permit stage and be issued an intermediate license.
Prepare for the Written Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Louisiana DMV Practice Test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Louisiana Residents
If you move into Louisiana from another State, you must apply for a Louisiana driver's license within 30 days after becoming a resident. You must turn in your previously issued out-of-state driver's license, fill out an application and pass an eye screening test.
If your out-of-state driver's license has been expired for a year or more, you will be required to pass written exam and vision test.
An out-of-state applicant who is16 years of age, who has had a license or permit for a minimum of 180 days may be eligible to bypass the learner's permit stage and be issued an intermediate license.
Out-of-State permit holders transferring to Louisiana must transfer their permit and be issued a Louisiana permit before applying for a Louisiana Driver License.
Immigration documents must be verified by the Office of Motor Vehicles for status prior to issuance of a Louisiana Driver's License or Identification Card.
If eligible and applicant has an out-of-country driver's license, the applicant must pass the written, vision, and driving skills tests unless Louisiana has a reciprocal agreement with the applicant's home country. Check with your local LA Office of Motor Vehicles for a list of countries with reciprocal agreements.
Required Paperwork for your Drivers License
Before you head to the Louisiana DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted Driver's License (16 years to 17 years of age) valid for 4 years.
- Full Driverís License (17 years of age and older) valid for 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.