How to get a Mississippi Learners Permit
- Mississippi Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
MS Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your MS driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Mississippi Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Mississippi drivers license guidelines, you must be 15 years old to apply for a learners permit. You must have your learner's permit for 12 months before you can apply for your intermediate license and you must be at least 16 years old.
Prepare for the Knowledge Exam
The Mississippi DMV requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Mississippi practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learner Permit
Before you head to the Mississippi DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:
- Identification and Proof of Age
- Social Security Card or a printout from Social Security Administration
- Certified copy of birth certificate
- Proof of residence address
- Signature of parent on application
- Proof of school enrollment
On the Road
The licensee must hold the permit for at least 12 months before being allowed to take the driving test. The 14 year old permit is only good in the driver's education vehicle with the driver's education instructor. The 14 year old permit is a very limited permit when the licensee reaches the age of 15 they must apply for the regular 15 year old permit before the 12-month to driving test will count.
For the intermediate license, the licensee must be at least 16 years old to qualify. The nighttime restriction for an intermediate driver's license is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 10 PM to 6 AM for Sundays to Thursdays, and 10:30 PM to 6 AM for Fridays and Saturdays.
In order to get full driving privileges in Mississippi with no nighttime driving restrictions, the applicant must be at least 16 years and 6 months old.