How to get a Florida Learners Permit
- Florida Learner's Permit Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
FL Learners Permit Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your FL driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's licenseTry Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Florida Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
First Time Drivers
Under Florida DMV guidelines, you must wait until your 15th birthday before you can apply for a FL Learners Permit.
All applicants are required to complete a Drug and Alcohol Awareness Course, pass a the written DMV test, plus a vision and hearing test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 12 months and log 50 hours of supervised driving prior to applying for a driver license.
All first time drivers in the State of Florida are required to take a driver's ed class called the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse and Education or the Drug and Alcohol course before applying for their learners permit. By taking this course, first time drivers learn how alcohol and other drugs affect their ability to drive, laws and responsibilities, about safe driving techniques, and how to increase their awareness on our roadways.
Prepare for the DMV Written Test
The Florida DMV requires that all applicants must pass a 40-question written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. A score of 80% or higher is required for both sections in order to pass. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Florida practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
Required Paperwork for your Learner's Permit
Before you head to the Florida DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your instruction permit:
- One primary and one secondary form of identification, which must be original or certified,
- Social Security Number, if issued,
- Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
- Parental Consent Form, which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notarized if parent or guardian will not be present.
On the Road
When you first receive your Florida learners permit, you may only drive during daylight hours during the first three months and until 10 p.m. thereafter, always with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.
The minimum age for an operator's license is 16 years old, and the nighttime restriction for this age is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 6 AM. If the licensee is 17, the nighttime restriction is moved to the hours of 1 AM to 5 AM where they are not allowed to drive.
Once a driver reaches the age of 18, the restrictions for the operator's license merely falls off.