1-800-729-2495
Our experts are here to help you!

Better Business Bureau Accredited Business
menu

How to get an Arizona Learners Permit

Arizona Learner's Permit
  • Arizona Learner's Permit Guidelines
  • How to Prepare for the Written Exam
  • Required ID and Paperwork

AZ Learners Permit Rules and Requirements

Find out the steps to get your AZ driving permit, pass your DMV written test and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.

Try Sample Test!

All applicants need to be familiar with the Arizona Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.

First Time Drivers

Under Arizona MVD guidelines, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to apply for a learners instruction permit. All applicants are required pass a written exam and vision test in order to obtain the permit. You then must hold the learners permit for 6 months and log 30 hours of supervised driving (20 daytime and 10 night time hours) prior to applying for a driver license.

Prepare for the Written Test

The Arizona MVD requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.

All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Arizona practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.

Required Paperwork

Before you head to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your learners permit:

  • Identification and Proof of Age
  • Signature of Parent or Legal Guardian on application

On the Road

When you first receive your Arizona permit, you may practice driving while accompanied by a person who is 21 years of age or older and, who is duly licensed in this state or a licensed or certified driving instructor occupying the seat beside you.

Free Permit Practice Test
details

Driver's License
Testing Center

Arizonachange

Unlimited DMV Practice Tests more info
(For Driver's License & Learner's Permits)

Better Business Bureau Accredited Business

Know the answers BEFORE you take the test!