How to get a Utah Driver's License
- Utah Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
UT Drivers License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Utah Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your UT Driver's Permit
You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a Utah Drivers License.
If this is your first driver's license and you are under 18, you will need to apply for a Utah learners permit which requires a vision test and a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques.
Once you receive a valid learners permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test to receive a UT drivers license.
Applicants under 18 must have held a learners permit for 6 months and provide proof that you have successfully completed an approved driver education course plus 40 hours (ten at night) of supervised driving time before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Utah practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Utah Residents
Utah law does not provide a grace period for obtaining a license as a new resident; it simply says that all residents must have a Utah driver's license. You are considered a Utah resident if you:
- Enter the state with the intention of making Utah your home.
- Are employed in Utah (does not apply if you are on a temporary assignment).
- Have lived in Utah for six months or longer.
When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
The written exam and road skills test are not required to change a valid out-of-state license to a UT driver's license, however you will need to pass a vision test.
If your out-of-state driver's license is expired, you may be required to carry a learner's permit for 90 days and then pass both the written and driving exams, in addition to a vision test.
Visitors with a valid out-of-state or out-of-country license may drive in Utah months if you have an International Driver's License along with a valid driver's license issued by your home country. If you are a holder of a valid foreign driver license and wish to convert to a Utah driver license, you must take and pass all required tests (vision, driver knowledge, driving and maneuverability).
Before you head to the Utah DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Restricted License (16 to 17 years of age).
- Full driver's license (18 and older).
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.