How to get an Arkansas Drivers License
- Arkansas Driver's License Guidelines
- How to Prepare for the Written Exam
- Required ID and Paperwork
AR Drivers License Rules and Requirements
Find out the steps to get your AR drivers license, pass your DMV written test, replace your out-of-state license and the required paperwork to bring to the DMV office to get your driver's license.Try Sample Test!
All applicants need to be familiar with the Arkansas Driver's Manual. Think you know the material? Take our DMV practice test now and test your driving knowledge.
Get your AR Drivers' Permit
If this is your first driver's license, you will need to apply for an Arkansas learners permit which requires a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. Once you receive a valid learner's permit, you will then need to pass a road skills test in addition to vision and hearing tests to receive an AR drivers license. Applicants under 18 must have held a learner's permit for 6 months before taking the road skills test.
Prepare for the Written Knowledge Test
The Arkansas MVD requires that all applicants must pass a written exam on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. If you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
All new drivers are encouraged to study for this driver education exam so you don't miss the opportunity to get your learners permit as soon as you reach the approved age. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam - Take the Arkansas practice permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
New Arkansas Residents
New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain an Arkansas driver's license upon establishing a permanent residence in AR. When heading to the DMV, be sure to bring the license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
There is no written exam or road skills testing required to change a valid out-of-state license to an AR driver's license, however you may need to pass the vision test.
If your out-of-state driver's license has been expired for more than 31 days, you will be required to take the written and vision examination, but will not be required to take the road examination. If the out-of-state license expired over one year, you will be required to take the written, vision, and road examination.
Arkansas honors the International Driving Permit as long as it is accompanied by a valid license from the resident country. Licensees have 30 days after becoming a resident of the State to convert to an Arkansas license.
Arkansas law requires persons obtaining a license for the first time or moving to Arkansas to show proof of legal presence in the United States. Acceptable documents are: a U.S. birth certificate, photo military/military dependent ID, Naturalization certificate, a U.S. passport / U.S. passport card or Visa, an Immigration and Naturalization Services (INS) photo document. (Border Crossing documents are not acceptable.) You must also show two forms of identification.
All applicants for an Arkansas driver's license or identification card must provide a verifiable Social Security Number (SSN) when making application. Applicants who are not eligible for a SSN must sign an affidavit stating they do not have a SSN. The name you request for the driver's license or ID card must match your name with the Social Security Administration.
Before you head to the Arkansas DMV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license:
On the Road
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive your new:
- Provisional Driver's License (16 to 18 years of age)
- Full Driver's License (18 and older) valid for 4 years.
Remember... the safe operation of a vehicle requires practiced skill, knowledge, and a respectful understanding of the limitations imposed by the other drivers and the environment.